10 Years of Symmetry Review

It’s a new Break album, which can only mean one thing: I won’t be listening to anything else for a while since what he has managed to deliver here is nothing short of perfection, with every track a masterpiece in my opinion. It is a special album to celebrate Break’s own Symmetry Recordings reaching the 10 years milestone, and contains many collaborations with fellow producers alongside some brand new material from the man himself.

The album starts off strong with ‘If I Could’ featuring Boston and Kyo, with funky latin vibes and a silky smooth bassline. It then moves into ‘Betamax’, a heavy dancefloor tune featuring Total Science with tons of bass weight and ridiculous drops. The third track is ‘Inside’, a half-time progressive stepper featuring the talents of Spectrasoul. Continuing on is the brand new track ‘Ain’t No Turnin’ Back’, with a beautiful melody build up and then a crazy LFO-driven bassline switching from reece basses to soaring high-ends, and finishing on an equally mad second drop. Next is the remix of ‘Free Your Mind’ featuring Singing Fats, which is the follow up to last year’s standout track on Break’s third album Simpler Times. This time however, he slows things down to a weighty stepper with a pounding bassline that hits like a freight train. ‘Give In to Me’ is the next track featuring Kyo again, and this is another new track – basslines everywhere, delayed vocals and a piano melody accompanying choppy drums. The next track is a standout for me, it is called ‘Who Got da Funk’ and is ridiculous: crunchy drums, deep neuro bass and is just so funky you can’t help but to jump around to it – definitely that classic Break style in this one. ‘Overdub’ is the next one, a laid-back dub type dnb track with relentless bass and crackling drums on top. The ninth track is the haunting ‘Left Behind’, reminiscent of some of Break’s earlier work with a spooky intro which then drops into a bass-driven stepper, switching up into a second pattern on the second drop. Then comes the Break and DLR remix of ‘Slimeville’ by NC-17 and KC. Again, so much funk and weighty bass, with alternating bass patterns and uncompromising drums. The penultimate track is ‘The Rush’, a mad adrenaline filled roller that progresses through its 6 minutes at a blistering pace. It is filled with congo drums, delicate synths and bass which propel you through this endurance race. Finally is ‘Not Forgotten’, a jungle rinse-out to finish on, with classic breaks and an 808-style bassline.

Overall, I rate this album 5/5, a must-listen.